Champions and WTCR winners confirmed for TCR SPA 500

Champions and WTCR winners confirmed for TCR SPA 500

17 September 2019

Three TCR champions, two former British and World Touring Car independent champions, and three World Touring Car Cup race winners will compete at this year’s TCR SPA 500.

Touring car staple, and 2009 WTCC Independent’s Trophy winner, Tom Coronel will be joined in the Red CUPRA TCR by Pepe Oriola, a championship runner-up in the European Touring Car Cup, the World Touring Car Championship Yokohama Drivers' Trophy, AND the TCR International Series in 2011, 2012 and 2015 respectively.

DG Sport and TOPCAR Sport with Bas Koeten Racing meanwhile have 2017 and 2018 TCR Europe champions Aurélien Comte and Mikel Azcona on their respective driver line-ups. The French and Spanish drivers, who will race a Peugeot 308 and CUPRA respectively, are both race winners in the WTCR. 

Andy Yan will drive for Teamwork Huff Motorsport, the squad co-operated by 2012 WTCC champion, Rob Huff. Having won TCR Asia in 2016 with one round to spare, Yan also secured the inaugural TCR China crown the following year.

In the Team Dynamics with WRC Developments Audi RS3 meanwhile, James Kaye, a former three-time title winner in the British Touring Car Championship, will team up with Will and Henry Neal. Fittingly, Kaye competed against their father Matt on-track until his retirement from the BTCC in 2013.

The inaugural TCR SPA 500 takes place at the Circuit de Spa-Francorchamps on 4-5-6 October.


Further details available on and via +31 485 471 166


Creventic BV
Zandstraat 11
6591DA Gennep, the Netherlands

TCR SPA 500:

Ole Dörlemann, Competitor relations: +31 485 471166,
Gerrie Willems, Sporting &Technical delegate: +31 485471166,
Peter Freij, Media Contact: +31 485471166,